Ballon d’Or 2017: A full breakdown of the shortlist

By  | 

Date published: Monday 9th October 2017 10:54

Tottenham striker Harry Kane has been named on a 30-man shortlist to win the 2017 Ballon d’Or.

Kane has enjoyed a superb year, scoring 43 times in 37 appearances for club and country, to help Spurs qualify for the Champions League and England next year’s World Cup.

His two goals as captain also secured England successive victories against Slovenia and Lithuania over the international break.

The 24-year-old joins the likes of Lionel Messi, Luis Suarez and Neymar on the Ballon d’Or shortlist.

Luka Modric is also on the list for Real Madrid, who are represented by the most players.

Chelsea’s N’Golo Kante, Manchester United’s David de Gea, Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne and Liverpool pair Philippe Coutinho and Sadio Mane are also in contention.

The Ballon d’Or, which is judged by a panel of journalists, ran in conjunction with FIFA from 2010 until 2015, when the governing body split to create its own Best Player award.

Cristiano Ronaldo is favourite to retain the crown, which would see the Real Madrid and Portugal forward pull level with Messi in winning it five times.

The winner will be announced in December.


Full list of Ballon d’Or 2017 nominees
Neymar (Barcelona and Paris Saint-Germain, Brazil)
Luka Modric (Real Madrid, Croatia)
Paulo Dybala (Juventus, Argentina)
Marcelo (Real Madrid, Brazil)
N’Golo Kante (Chelsea, France)
Luis Suarez (Barcelona, Uruguay)
Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid, Spain)
Jan Oblak (Atletico Madrid, Slovenia)
Philippe Coutinho (Liverpool, Brazil)
Dries Mertens (Napoli, Belgium)
Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City, Belgium)
Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich, Poland)
Harry Kane (Tottenham, England)
David de Gea (Manchester United, Spain)
Edin Dzeko (Roma, Bosnia)
Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid, France)
Toni Kroos (Real Madrid, Germany)
Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus, Italy)
Sadio Mane (Liverpool, Senegal)
Radamel Falcao (Monaco, Colombia)
Lionel Messi (Barcelona, Argentina)
Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund, Gabon)
Edinson Cavani (Paris Saint-Germain, Uruguay)
Mats Hummels (Bayern Munich, Germany)
Karim Benzema (Real Madrid, France)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid, Portugal)
Eden Hazard (Chelsea, Belgium)
Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus and AC Milan, Italy)
Isco (Real Madrid, Spain)
Kylian Mbappe (Monaco and Paris Saint-Germain)


Nominees by club
Real Madrid – 7
Barcelona – 3
Paris Saint-Germain – 3
Atletico Madrid – 2
Bayern Munich – 2
Chelsea – 2
Juventus – 2
Liverpool – 2
Monaco – 2
AC Milan – 1
Borussia Dortmund – 1
Manchester City – 1
Manchester United – 1
Napoli – 1
Roma – 1
Tottenham – 1


Nominees by league
La Liga – 11
Premier League – 7
Serie A – 5
Ligue Un – 4
Bundesliga – 3


Nominees by country
France – 4
Belgium – 3
Brazil – 3
Spain – 3
Argentina – 2
Germany – 2
Italy – 2
Uruguay – 2
Bosnia – 1
Colombia – 1
Croatia – 1
England – 1
Gabon – 1
Poland – 1
Portugal – 1
Senegal – 1
Slovenia – 1

This content belongs to the Source Link identified below, all rights are reserved.

Source link

You must be logged in to post a comment Login